



UTNMF presents Karen Kieser Prize Concert

presented by Gregory Lee Newsome

Mark Takeshi McGregor, flute, with Katya Poplyansky, violin, and Todd Yaniw, piano

Wednesday, February 1, 2023 at 7:30 pm | Walter Hall, 80 Queen's Park

P	R	0	G	R	Δ	M	7

Slipstream

Kotoka Suzuki

Ambitus

Gregory Lee Newsome

Hōrai

Keiko Devaux

INTERMISSION

Laconisme de l'aile

Kaija Saariaho

Interview: Gregory Lee Newsome & Gavin Fraser

like years, like seconds

Gavin Fraser (b. 1993) 2021-22 Winner of the Karen Kieser Prize

We wish to acknowledge this land on which the University of Toronto operates.

For thousands of years it has been the traditional land of the Huron-Wendat, the Seneca, and the Mississaugas of the Credit.

Today, this meeting place is still the home to many Indigenous people from across Turtle Island and we are grateful to have the opportunity to work on this land.

THE KAREN KIESER PRIZE IN CANADIAN MUSIC

The Karen Kieser Prize in Canadian Music is awarded each year to a graduate student in composition whose work is judged to be especially promising. Karen Kieser was a distinguished triple-graduate of the Faculty of Music at the University of Toronto and a former Head of Music at CBC Radio. Friends and colleagues endowed The Karen Kieser Prize in Canadian Music upon her death in 2002 as a tribute to her life, her work and her passionate devotion to the cause of Canadian music and musicians.

Past winners of the Karen Kieser Prize are:

- Matthias McIntire (2020) Cathedral Grove (and the Gray Jay)
- Hanna Kim (2019) Seven Words
- Rebekah Cummings (2018) Fearless and Bekah Simms (2018) Microlattice
- Tyler Versluis (2017) 3 Unuttered Miracles
- Sophie Dupuis (2016) Perceptions de La Fontaine
- Shelley Marwood (2015) Imaginings
- Patrick McGraw (2014) Glass
- Christopher Thornborrow (2013) Walking
- Adam Scime (2012) After the rioT
- Riho Esko Maimets (2011) squall
- Kevin Lau (2010) Starsail
- Constantine Caravassilis (2009) Sappho de Mytilène
- Igor Correia (2008) Three Songs of Great Range
- Fuhong Shi (2007) Lightenings
- Christopher William Pierce (2006) Melody with Gesture
- Katarina Curcin (2005) . . . walking away from . . .
- Craig Galbraith (2004) The Fenian Cycle
- Andrew Staniland (2003) Tapestry
- Abigail Richardson (2002) dissolve