UTNMF 2021: Celebrating Our Student Composers

« Back

Composition Awards

Each year as part of the University of Toronto New Music Festival, student composers are selected for prizes recognizing their incredible works. The Karen Kieser Prize in Canadian Music is awarded each year to a graduate student in composition whose work is judged to be especially promising. The Ann H. Atkinson Prize in Composition is awarded to any undergraduate or graduate Faculty of Music student in recognition of the most outstanding electro-acoustic composition in the competition. New this year is the Piano Trio Composition Competition, which is awarded by the Faculty of Music and the Bedford Trio, the current Irene R. Miller Piano Trio in Residence.

This year's winners:

  • Ann H. Atkinson Prize in Composition: Sergei Kofman for Voices in the Whir
  • Karen Kieser Prize in Canadian Music: Hanna Kim for Seven Words
  • Inaugural Piano Trio Composition Competition: Katharine Petkovski for Piano Trio No. 1

Watch the UTNMF: website, Facebook and Instagram for details on premiere performances of these works and congratulations to the winners and to all the composers for their wonderful submissions.

The University of Toronto New Music Festival is an international festival of contemporary music presented annually by the Faculty of Music.